VIRTUAL EVENT: Streaming | Meet an Astronomer | Kyler Kuehn at 2pm Pacific with Lowell Observatory | Kids Out and About Tampa

VIRTUAL EVENT: Streaming | Meet an Astronomer | Kyler Kuehn at 2pm Pacific with Lowell Observatory


*The event has already taken place on this date: Tue, 04/28/2020
Lowell Observatory’s Deputy Director for Technology, Dr. Kyler Kuehn, has spent more than a dozen years building and improving astronomical instruments in order to give astronomers the best possible “eyes” for observing the heavens. Dr. Kuehn will describe some of the technologies that he has helped to develop, from enormous digital cameras made of dozens of charge-coupled devices, to robotic “Starbugs” that precisely position hundreds of optical fibers simultaneously, to microscopic devices etched on silicon wafers that block out the emission from Earth’s atmosphere and give astronomers a pristine view of distant stars and galaxies. You can find all of our Live-Streams and more on our YouTube channel!

Click here to get to the Lowell Observatory YouTube page

a few minutes before starting time 5pm Eastern / 4pm Central / 3pm Mountain / 2pm Pacific

 


Click here to get back to the list of upcoming virtual events


*Times, dates, and prices of any activity posted to our calendars are subject to change. Please be sure to click through directly to the organization’s website to verify.

Location:

ONLINE ONLY
Online
Online, NY, .
United States
Contact name: 
Heather Craig
Email address: 
The event has already taken place on this date: 
04/28/2020
Time: 
5pm Eastern /4pm Central / 3pm Mountain / 2pm Pacific
Price: 
FREE

Ages

All Ages